Jul 08

NC teachers recognized for PAEMST at White House

Two North Carolina educators were recently recognized by President Obama as awardees of the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

Julie Riggins of East Forsyth High School and Jeffrey Milbourne of the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics were among the honorees from North Carolina.

In total, 108 mathematics and science teachers were named as recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. This year’s awardees represent all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. Territories, and the Department of Defense Education Activity schools.

The educators will receive their awards at a Washington, DC, event later this summer.

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching is awarded annually to outstanding K-12 science and mathematics teachers from across the country. The winners are selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators following an initial selection process done at the state level. Each year the award alternates between teachers teaching kindergarten through 6th grade and those teaching 7th through 12th grades. This year’s awardees teach 7th through 12th grade.

“These teachers are shaping America’s success through their passion for math and science,” President Obama said. “Their leadership and commitment empower our children to think critically and creatively about science, technology, engineering, and math. The work these teachers are doing in our classrooms today will help ensure that America stays on the cutting edge tomorrow.”

Winners of this Presidential honor receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion. They also are invited to Washington, DC, for an awards ceremony, as well educational and celebratory events.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *