May 17

2016 SMT Celebration Award Recipients

2016 SMT CelebrationSTEM Education Luminaries Honored for Outstanding Achievements

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. – The North Carolina Science, Mathematics, and Technology Education (SMT) Center is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2016 SMT awards. The recipients were honored on April 30 at the annual SMT Celebration in Cary, N.C.

The SMT Celebration began in 2007 as a means to recognize the extraordinary efforts taking place in advancing STEM education across North Carolina.

The year’s recipients include:

Outstanding Administrator: Wayne Fisher
Mr. Fisher is the elementary science specialist for Charlotte Mecklenburg Schools.

Outstanding Informal Education: Sue Kezios
Ms. Kezios is  the director of youth programs in UNC-Wilmington’s Watson College of Education,

Business and Industry Award: Mertek Solutions
Mertek Solutions in based in Sanford, N.C.

Outstanding Student Leadership: Serena Mooney
Ms. Mooney is a senior at South Center High School in Winterville, N.C.

Outstanding Educator (9-16): Ben Owens
Mr. Owens is teacher at the Tri-County Early College High School in Murphy, N.C.

Outstanding Educator (K-8): John Phillips
Mr Phillips is a science and social studies teacher at Brooks Global Studies Elementary School in Greensboro, N.C.


YouTube playlist of SMT Celebration videos:

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *